Contact Us
Darien Daily Voice serves Darien, CT
Return to your home site


Darien Daily Voice serves Darien, CT

Nearby Towns


Decision Day: Darien Heads to the Polls

DARIEN, Conn. – It’s Election Day , and it’s time for Darien residents to decide who they want to lead their town. Polling places will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday. Here’s a rundown of the races:

First Selectman

Three candidates are up for the position of first selectman: Republican Jayme Stevenson, Democrat John Lundeen and Ultra Conservative candidate Chris Noe. The first selectman heads the Board of Selectmen for two years. The candidates who lose the race for first selectman automatically become part of the race for selectman.

Board of Selectmen

Four candidates are running for two-year terms on the Board of Selectmen: incumbent Republicans Dave Campbell and Jerry Nielsen, incumbent Democrat David Bayne and Democrat Vickie Riccardo.

Board of Finance

Three candidates are running unopposed for the Board of Finance: Democrat Gwen Mogenson and Republicans Liz Mao and James McLaughlin. All three currently serve on the board.

Board of Education

Three candidates are running unopposed for the Board of Education: Republicans Morgan Whittier and Michael Harman, and Democrat Heather Shea. Whittier and Shea currently serve on the Board, and Harman is filling the empty seat left by Kim Westcott, who is leaving the board after nine years.

Planning and Zoning Commission

Republicans Susan Cameron and Reese Hutchison are running for re-election this year, and Democrat Kevin Cunningham is running to fill the empty seat left by Vickie Riccardo, who is running for Board of Selectmen.


Four candidates are running for three constable positions. Incumbent Democrats David Morgan and William Slinsky are seeking re-election, as is Republican Joseph Tarnowsky. Republican Louis Calastro is also in the mix.

Other Offices

Town Clerk Donna Rajczewski, Town Treasurer Joan Hendrickson and Tax Collector Robert Locke are all running unopposed for re-election to their posts.

The following are the designated polling places. To find out which district you are located in, click here .

• RTM District 1: Ox Ridge Elementary, 395 Mansfield Ave.

• RTM District 2: Darien Town Hall, 2 Renshaw Road

• RTM District 3: Holmes Elementary, 18 Hoyt St.

• RTM District 4: Hindley Elementary, 10 Nearwater Lane

• RTM District 5: Darien High School, 80 High School Lane

• RTM District 6: Tokeneke Elementary, 7 Old Farm Road

Don’t forget to bring identification with you when you go to vote.

Who are you voting for? Tell us in the comments below.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Darien Daily Voice!

This is a one time message inviting you to keep in touch

Get important news about your town as it happens.