Contact Us
Darien Daily Voice serves Darien, CT
Return to your home site


Darien Daily Voice serves Darien, CT

Nearby Towns


Arts Center Honors Student Artists

The Weatherstone Studio was packed wall-to-wall Friday night, filled with an interesting mixture of people. On the one hand, adults stood around sipping wine and discussing works of art, as they would at most any gallery opening. But amidst them were young children, running around, drawing their parents’ pleas to settle down.

Such was the scene at the opening reception for the Darien Arts Center’s 52nd Annual Art Show and Sale, displaying work from the town’s finest professional, amateur and student artists. Mary Morant took home the top prize among the adults, winning Best in Show for her painting “Chocolate Cake.” As for the students, dozens of kids from grades K-12 took home prizes, but Mackenzie Jones received the highest honor, winning the Ginny Wright Scholarship for her entire body of work.

This year’s show saw by far the largest turnout. A total of 317 artists submitted entries, an increase of more than 50 compared to 2009. The field was so large that this year the Arts Center enlisted two judges to decide the winners. Helen Klisser During handled the adult categories, while Nancy McTague-Stock chose the student winners. Local merchants sponsored each category’s cash prize.

The Art Show and Sale will continue until June 12. All works are on display at the Weatherstone Studio, on the lower level of Town Hall.

There were winners in seven categories for adults, based on the type of media. This year’s winners were:

Oils and Acrylics: First Prize — Anne Anderson, “Crock, Eggs and Ribbon”; Second Prize — Nobuku Miki, “DHS Graduation”; Third Prize — Nancy Gramps, “Ladies’ Day Out”; Honorable Mention — Priscila Podesta, “All Creation Sings.”

Color Photography: First and Second — Robery Carley, “Flag House” and “Flags, Darien Thrift Shop”; Third — Gillian Marshall, “Tanu’s Wedding Day”; Honorable Mentions — James Schwatrz, “Stand By Your Van”, Gwen Mitrano, “La Rojena”, Blake Robinson, “Diana’s Dream”

Black and White Photography: First — Pierre Lahaussiois, “Three Eggs”; Second and Third — Leslie Rottner, “Vintage Drill” and “Daisey”

Sculpture: First — Pat Atkin, “White Colonial”

Watercolor: First-Stan Pastore, “Birches”; Second-Christine Leddy, “Crocus Study”; Third-Kazumasa Oda, “Rowayton Bay in Winter”; Honorable Mentions-Edward Corning, “Sheffield Island Lighthouse”; Stan Pastore, “North Stamford Road”

Mixed Media: First-Lori Glavin, “Pour”; Second-Pierre Lahaussois — “Nine Trees”; Third-Mary Manning, “Endangered Species”; Honorable Mentions-Pamela Lindberg, “Cosmic Flowers”; Karen Neems, “Entangled”

Pastels, Graphics and Drawing: First-Lisa Thoren, “Motherlode”; Second-Vicki French Smith, “Escape”; Third-Adam Campbell, “Bathing Beauty” Honorable Mentions-Dana Goodfellow, “Movement in Color”; Helen Werngren, “Sea Treasures.”

Student awards were divided into three age groups for grades K-8 and three categories for high school students. Those winners were:

H.S. Photography: First-Eric Kanigan, “Faucet”; Second-Elizabeth Epps, “Warrior”; Third-Megan Keane, “Forks”; Honorable Mentions-Emily Duwan, “Dock at Noroton Bay”; Kyle King, “Hindley Happening”; Julia Maloof, “Secret Passage”

H.S.Sculpture/Ceramics: First-Kelsey Harrison, “Wave”; Second — Sarah Smith, “Teapot”; Third-Surya Radhakrishna, “Clay Sculpture”; Honorable Mention-Charlotte Schaffer, “Composite”

H.S. All Other Media: First — Joe Maccarone, “Separation”; Second — Ann Cavers, “Hat and Fishing Pole”; Third-Megan Keane, “Man Machine”; Honorable Mentions-Harrison Perley, “Hey!”; Michael Ziga, “Spray Paint; Nick Vilter, “No Title”

Grades Six through Eight: First-Katherine de Haas, “Nelson”; Second-Danielle Williams, “Boots”; Third-Morgan Sawitsky, “Laughter”; Honorable Mentions-Madison Bolotin, “Hova”; Alegra Molkenthin, “Blue Elephant”; Luisa Correa, “Mare and Colt on a Green Pasture”; Peter Nestor, “Three Moons”

Grades Three through Five: First: George Thompson, “Me Painting Me”; Second-Justin Mossa, “S. Robinhood”; Third-Carly Rutledge, “Waiting for You”; Honorable Mentions-Johnothan Stimpson, “Sunrise in Santorini, Greece”; Tyler Stimpson, “A Sunny Day at Roton Point”; James McPartland, “Man’s Best Friend

Kindergarten through Grade Two: First-Greta Hoffmeister, “Lines and Swirls”; Second-Kelly Neiderreither, “Snowy Footprints”; Third-Adeline Fine, “Tonka”; Honorable Mentions-Robbie Stewart,

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Darien Daily Voice!

Get the news you need to know on the go.

Welcome to

Darien Daily Voice!

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.